My God, what a world you love



 Dead man, were you ever alive or was I just a seed
buried deep inside some woman you wed
right before you crawled out of her bed and crept down the hall?
Did you think of me?
Did you even for a second hesitate, in the doorway?
It's just something I'd like to know,
though I'd still love you if you told me
that you just walked away.

My God, what a world you love
Men bury their sons, and without thought, they just walk away.

And my mother's heart breaks like the water inside of her. (2x)

Dead man, is it being high that makes you alive?
It makes you leave behind three boys and a wife, in '89.
And as the track marks inch their way up your arm,
my mother taught my brothers and I not to call you "Daddy,"
but to call you "Father".

But I believe there is something here to be learned of grace.
'Cause I can't help but love you.
No, I can't help but love you
even with a heart that breaks, like the promises that you made.
Like the promises that you made.
The promises that you made.
'Cause I can't help but love you.

My God, what a world you love...
As Cities Burn - The Widow

Det är svårt att skriva det jag vill skriva. Det är svårt att skriva om Gud.



Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback